How do I prevent foot numbness while spinning?

Asked 4 years ago

I am a spinning instructor and I have a member who says that her toes are going numb. She’s wearing good quality running shoes and using the toe cages. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to prevent this?

Margery Justice

Friday, July 24, 2020

She will need to get clip-in shoes. Her toes are probably going numb because she is sliding forwards in her shoes without realising it. A stable cycling shoe will make a huge difference!

Roxie Frazier

Saturday, July 25, 2020

Is she sliding her foot to the front of the cage? The pressure may be causing her toes to go numb.

Roslyn Wolfe

Sunday, July 26, 2020

Running shoes tend to be too soft for spinning or cycling. They bend at the arch and the peddle strap cuts into the foot. An inexpensive pair of cycling shoes would be better than an expensive pair of running shoes.

Kathrine Carlson

Monday, July 27, 2020

She could try a more solid training shoe. I use Nike Metcon's for spinning classes and they work great!

Nanette Walton

Wednesday, July 29, 2020

I would get rid of the toe clips and go clipless.

Charmaine Townsend

Monday, August 03, 2020

The simple solution would be to get a good pair of cycling shoes.

Suzette Jefferson

Sunday, August 09, 2020

Spinning or cycling shoes would work better.

Kaye Dyer

Tuesday, August 18, 2020

I always remind my members that if they are using the straps, they need to put the widest part of their foot on the centre of the peddle, instead of pushing their foot all the way through the straps.

Merle Mills

Monday, August 24, 2020

This may be due to circulation issues. The shoe cage may be too tight, or her shoelaces may be too tight.

Lina Vincent

Saturday, August 29, 2020

She definitely needs cycling shoes. The soles of her running shoes are probably too flimsy to support her.

I always recommend that my members invest in spinning shoes if they attend more than 2 classes per week for 2 months consecutively.

Deanne Knight

Sunday, August 30, 2020

She will definitely need a harder sole shoe!

Kenya Riley

Tuesday, May 25, 2021

I would suggest that she invests in some spinning shoes. She will appreciate it later!

Dollie Roach

Sunday, May 30, 2021

Chances are, the foam from her running shoes is bending around the bike peddle, cutting off the blood flow to her toes. She could try a training shoe will a more solid base, or alternatively, a cycling shoe.

Roslyn Wolfe

Friday, June 04, 2021

She may need to change the height of her seat or her knee position. The ball of the foot should be directly over the centre of the peddle.





Write an answer...

Cancel

Please follow our  Community Guidelines

Can't find what you're looking for?